28,000 feet -- Nowhere to go

Forums: 

Sender: <marv [at] lancaironline.net>
Subject: 28,000 feet -- Nowhere to go
Date: Tue, 09 Sep 2014 13:45:11 -0400
To: <lml [at] lancaironline.net>

I have never replied to any posting to the LML but I think this is one time I can really offer some insight.   I have 17 years of military flying experience  -- I flew as a door gunner on CH-46 Helicopters (800 hours) in the USMC and as loadmaster on C-130H2 in the US Air Force (2500 hours), with the latter being a pressurized aircraft.  Furthermore, I also have another 2000 hours as pic in pressurized aircraft -- Beechcraft Dukes and Lancair 4P's. 

As part of my C130 qualification, I was required to go through the pressurization chamber every 4 years.  The purpose of the pressurization chamber is to identify our individual hypoxic symptoms.  For some people it becomes confusion and other become nauseous.  We attended a ground school prior to entering the pressurization chamber so that we would stay current on what hypoxia is, how it happens, and what are the symptoms -- we didn't just walk into the pressurization chamber.  While in the pressurization chamber we were required to execute repetitive tasks while they instructor drop the "aircraft" pressure.  As I just wrote, confusion is the most common symptom for most people but nausea can occur in others, too.  As we conducted our repetitive tasks it soon became clear that the simplest tasks were becoming increasingly difficult to concentrate and execute as well as remembering the next task.  We had been trained to recognize the symptom so the next immediate thing to do was to go on oxygen.